Tokyo Clear Zero Degrees Celcius

There are moments in my life or situations to which I find impossible not to attach a song. Today has been a very cold day, and as I walked to and from university, the lyrics of Eastern Youth’s Tokyo Clear Zero Degrees Celcius kept running through my head, so simple, soothing and deep.

As I felt the sharp cold in my face and walked past a playground, full of all kinds of colourful things, I got stuck on the verse Colors burst at the freezing point. The refrain left me thinking about something sad but unavoidable, We are alike in that we both have no destination. There’s nothing to do about it but to leave your hands tucked away in your pockets and keep on walking.

 
Lyrics:

Spread over the sky. the white sculpture afloat
cruises slowly and magnificently
Down on earth, my footsteps sound
Down on earth, my humming sounds
Tough to laugh right now
But I’ll see you off with a bitter smile

See you, bye, so long
We are alike in that we both have no destination

Yes
Moments pass in that way
At a dizzying speed,
probably at the pace of my heartbeat
Colors burst at the freezing point
An Up-train tears through the town
In the serene winter winds
Silhouettes rush to and fro

See you, bye, so long
We are alike in the way we drift

Blue and white, red and yellow
Green and gray
Ordinary colors are just as good
Only wish I felt them
at the bottom of my heart

See you, bye, so long
We are alike in that we both have no destination

(thanks http://www.geocities.com/eyfansite/ for the lyrics)

Responder

