Give us our razors

I once said that an album is good when the artists puts into words and sounds what you felt but couldn’t quite find a way to express it. Well, maybe I didn’t say that exactly, but it was the idea.

And that’s what Everything Absent or Distorted did in Closer than You Think – Part 3 (I know about a Part 1 pretty similar to this one, but have no clue about Part 2).

Things are crappy, we do the same things everyday, we ask ourselves what are we living for. But also think about all we’ve lived and all that goes on around us, stop the bitching for a while and continue with life. At least that’s what I got from the lyrics.

There are a couple of parts I probably misheard, so feel free to correct (I checked the part of the “gorilla costume” at SongMeanings, because it really sounded to me like “a girl in a costume”).

Here they go:

Everytime I close my eyes
I think about the ones that died
who had a book and never wrote it down
who had a song and never made a sound

Everytime I close my eyes
I think about our daily lives
dying men in the living room,
a suicide in a gorilla costume

Monday morning, give us our razors
feel like dying but
we’ll just shave and
Monday morning, give us our razors
feel like dying but
we’ll just shave and go on

Everytime I close my eyes
I think about my childhood friends,
all the weddings and the drunken smiles,
shredded rainbows they lined the eyes

Everytime I close my eyes
I think about my daily life,
my songs, my fame, my colors, my crimes,
my races, my times, my enemies

Monday morning, give us our razors
feel like dying but
we’ll just shave and
Monday morning, give us our razors
feel like dying but
we’ll just shave and go on

we’ll just shave and go on
we’ll just shave and go on
we’ll just shave and go on
we’ll just shave and go on
we’ll just shave and
we’ll just shave and go on
we’ll just shave and
we’ll just shave and go on

 

I discovered them recently, after the band said its goodbyes last year, so I feel like I arrived to the party when there’s no one left. But there’s this and plenty of other songs in their MySpace page, so we can still enjoy their work.

Responder

